The Project Manager's Nightmares
I was thinking of apologizing since this is a rant but I can't help myself.
Nightmare #1 Team members who will not give you information or if they do, give you inaccurate or totally wrong information
I love people like this. Technically a PM's job is to manage, control and implement projects. So let's say that I have to give updates to clients. I go to another location for a meeting with some team members. I ask is x done? What about y? I then check things off my list of things to follow up on and dutifully write down any other details. What else do we have to do? What were the issues encountered? So I write my report and send it to client. I get a response the next day from the client asking me why I reported so and so is done when it is NOT! Nice.
I'm still torn whether or not getting no information at all is better or worse. We meet and team member claims there is an e-mail being drafted that will show all the updates on what we discussed. After one day I follow up, where is that e-mail? Another day goes by and I give it up as a lost cause.
Another one rising quickly is the person who owns a similar project but will not share documentation that could expedite the creation of the technical specifications. I ask myself why? Can there really be a person dumb enough not to have documentation on such a project or is that person deliberately not sharing pertinent and vital information?
Nightmare #2 The client who simply will not accept the project.
So acceptance means the project is done according to specifications and has met the expectations of the client. The definition of a project is that it is a temporary endeavor with a finite duration. It has a beginning and an end. Acceptance is the end of the project. Thus, they refuse to accept the project in case there are some bugs that might appear or because there are a few issues that crop up after everything in the scope of work is done. The only thing they'll sign is delivery!
Then again we might as well debate over the meaning of full implementation. Thanks to the guys who underscoped the project and left it to me to clean up the mess but that leads us to ...
Nightmare #3 Taking over a project in the middle to save it from utterly failing due to the previous project manager's incompetence.
I guess I'm on a roll. My boss once told me that being a project manager was one of the worst jobs to take since everybody hates you. Here was one project manager who I guess people didn't hate. Mostly because the person really didn't do anything to be hated for. Try cracking the whip on the team members this person left behind. They whine about how the old project manager was like this or like that. I wanted to scream at them to take back their old PM and make sure their project never got anywhere. It would've stalled for months if I didn't do the necessary things I did. I don't care if you don't like me, just do your damn job and I'll do mine. What was the first thing I did? I created the scope of work.
Nightmare #4 The project has no scope of work
Yes, there was a presentation. But there was no scope of work. Which is why people kept arguing what was supposed to be done and delivered and who was supposed to be doing it. The dang project could not move forward. Finally I crammed them (client and sales) all in one room and made them agree to one. I made sure they signed it too. And that is how you prevent scope creep; plus a change management process of course. Nothing and I mean nothing stays the same.
Well this adrenaline fueled rant has lost its steam. If I think of any more I will post again. Mwahahaha.


<< Home